{my story}

I was born and raised in Yorba Linda, CA. 

When I wasn't sticker trading with friends, you could probably find me  playing outside with the neighbors or with my Polly Pockets.   My parents put me in dance class and I also played piano for a couple of years.  I was always so bad at practicing piano, though.  Usually it was 20 minutes before lesson.    I absolutely loved dance class and to this day I still look forward to the random jazz class I can take on the weekend.   I was never one to live at the dance studio and compete on a dance team, even though sometimes I wish I did.   I think my favorite part was the recital and the costumes.   I was definitely a performer.  As for piano.... let's just say piano lessons weren't my favorite part of the week.   At least now I can play Christmas songs during the holidays - my favorite time of the year!

My family had Disneyland annual passes for a long time.  So we'd go there pretty often.   Here's a pic of me in Minnie Mouse's House in Toon Town :)

And here's a pic of Cody(my amazing boyfriend) and I last summer.  He has a pass too, so it's always a fun date place :)

Middle school and high school I was very involved in colorguard.  Not the military kind of colorguard, if that's what you're thinking.  We used flags, rifles, sabers.  And we danced.   I think my favorite part was always the dancing.   Somtimes the equipment was just too heavy!  Being on colorguard kept me very busy on the weekends with competitions.  If I wasn't doing homework or studying (you could say I was pretty studious and paranoid about getting bad grades), I was doing something related to colorguard.     After colorguard was over, I had no idea what to do with myself....no more zero period, no late practices, no early morning wake ups for competitions.  I was so freeeee!

Fast forward to college, I went to UC Irvine.  I did live in Irvine while I went to school.   It was a nice change.   I joined a sorority my freshman year of college.  Go Gamma Phi!  It definitely kept me busy.   You know all the rumors about sororities?  No so true.  Yes, I did attend my fair share of themed parties at "unknown" venues and I had my fun getting dress up for formals.   But it was much more work than I expected.  You don't know what it means to be tired until you've experienced sorority recruitment.  I learned how to be crafty! I was on the exec board for a year as Panhellenic VP...which means I was basically a laison for our sorority to all the other sororities on campus.   I think my most rewarding experience was when I was Parent/Alumni Relations Chair.   I put on the best Parent's Day ever!  Never before had it been so large.   It was that event that made me fall in love with event planning.
Here is a pic of my sorority sisters and I. 

I graduated in June of 2010 with a B.A. Psychology and Social Behavior and a minor in Business Management.

Looking for a job was oh so fun.  I was all over the place.  I really wanted a job doing development for  a non-profit.   Then I was interested in real estate.   After a lot of thinking and "soul searching", I decided that I was going to go into Special Education.   I had interned at an elementary school 2 quarters before I graduated with a Resource Specialist.   I helped one specific child that was behind in her class.   Through this internship, I realized how perfect the environment was for me.   I love children and I'm patient with them.   Sometimes, almost too patient.   Anways, I ended up getting a job with that elementary school last year as an Aide under the Educational Specialist.   Here's my school picture!

NOW, I'm going to Cal State Fullerton to get a Special Education Credential (for children with both mild/moderate and moderate/severe disabilities).   As much as I didn't want to go back to school, I really love the  classes and the people I've met in the program.  I should be done in 2  to 2 1/2 years. 

 What do I like to do in my free time?  Relax at home, spend time with my family, my boyfriend, my friends, window shop online,  swimming in the pool, being crafty, baking.  A goal of mine is to make something and sell it on Etsy.   One day!!